Skip to content

First Things, September 2016

September 9, 2016
The Sunday after Labor Day is the start of the church year for Unitarian Universalist churches. We celebrate with an “Ingathering” service. It’s a chance to say, “welcome” to new folks, or “welcome back” to old folks, and a celebration of our special community.

This year, I’m one of the folks who needs a “welcome back.” Since May 1, I’ve been on sabbatical. I’ve been around, but not as much as usual.

There were several projects that I needed to stay involved in. The preschool still has some lingering issues. I worked on expanding the Urban Partners Los Angeles Board. I worked on the regional justice ministry called JUUsticeLA. I continued in my roles as the President of the local chapter of the Unitarian Universalist Ministers Association and on the Steering Committee of the Ministerial Formation Network. I attended the UUA General Assembly in June, and I chaired the internship committee for Sarah Caine.

I had some time off, too. Jim and I took a short trip to San Francisco in June, and a longer trip to Colorado and New Mexico in July and August. That was blissful. We hiked and attended the opera. And I made art all summer long, which is what I had intended to do with my sabbatical.

I also had some insights about the future of First Church. I’ll share my thoughts with our Board of Trustees and then with you all. I look forward to seeing where that conversation takes us.

As always, these are exciting times at First Church. I feel privileged to be your minister. It’s good to be back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

